Conservation Scholarships

CDI is partnering with local Soil and Water Conservation Districts (SWCD) to foster the higher education endeavors of Iowa students interested in conservation and agriculture by offering scholarships. Iowa High School Class of 2023 students pursuing programs of study in any field of conservation or agriculture qualifies for the Conservation Scholarship. While this is a wide field and many studies qualify, preference will be given to students pursuing programs of study in conservation. The scholarship must be used for the student’s first year of college education.

2023 Application & Instructions

Please note that the application form has been changed. Application forms from previous years will not qualify. Follow the instructions on the application closely. Applications filled out incorrectly will not qualify. Pay close attention to deadlines. Applications submitted after set deadlines will not be considered. The 2023 application is available HERE.


After final selections, the top three scholarships will be awarded at the state level in the amounts of $3000, $2000 and $1000. Winners from the remaining six regions will each receive $500. First, second and third place awards will be paid directly to the applicant’s school of choice in two equal installments, one upon enrollment at the beginning of the year and the second at midterm. The six other scholarships will be paid directly to the students.

Selection Criteria

Scholarship applications are judged based on the following criteria:

  • 20 points for Involvement, Leadership and Character
  • 20 points for Career
  • 30 points for Scholastic Achievement
  • 30 points for Conservation Message


2023 Conservation Scholarship Rules

2023 Scholarship Application

Congratulations to the 2022 Scholarship Winners!

1st Place – Hunter Thilges, Kossuth SWCD, Region 2, $3,000

2nd Place – Brady Van Meeteren, O’Brien SWCD, Region 1, $2,000

3rd Place – Marissa Lindemann, Story SWCD, Region 6, $1,000


Our Regional Winners – With an award of $500/Scholarship

CDI Region 3 – Nathan Brumm, Mitchell SWCD

CDI Region 4 – Ellen Kirby, Dubuque SWCD

CDI Region 5 – Ashlyn Vorthmann, West Pott SWCD

CDI Region 7 – Emma Schoonover, Louisa SWCD

CDI Region 8 – Amara Orth, Mills SWCD

CDI Region 9 – Jayce Reed, Monroe SWCD


2021 Scholarship Winners

1st Place – Morgan Dunn, Polk SWCD, Region 6, $3,000

2nd Place – Krista Goth, Cherokee SWCD, Region 1, $2,000

3rd Place – Dylan Engelbrecht, Scott SWCD, Region 7, $1,000