The Keokuk County Soil & Water Conservation District celebrated their 75th Anniversary on November 8, 2018 at the USDA/NRCS Office in Sigourney. Presenting the 75th anniversary plaque to the Keokuk County Soil & Water Conservation District Board Commissioners and Assistant Commissioners was Kurt Simon, NRCS State Conservationist. History of the Keokuk County SWCD was displayed with refreshments served. The District was organized on October 23, 1943 with three Commissioners. The Founding Board members were Carl Griner, Glen Sorden and Solon T. Yates. Also serving as District Commissioners were Clifford Streigle, Ben Lee, Earl Grove, Martin Rice, Arley Atwood, Raymond Klein, Keith Slater, Leon Streigle, Harold Lee, Dale Stanley, Leonard Bayliss, Lee Henry, David Flint, Donald Millikin, Laurena Hammes, Richard Swanson, Homer Kerr, Leo Sieren, Gary Bates, Larry Striegel, Clinton Mikesell and David Klein. Thirty five Assistant Commissioner have served on the board beginning in 1955. Since 1943 there have only been three District Conservationists and they were George Thornburn, Donald Borts, and Larry Stevens.

L to r: John Whitaker, Conservation Districts of Iowa Executive Director; Clint Mikesell, David Klein, Leo Sieren, Larry Striegel, Gary Bates, Kurt Simon, NRCS State Conservationist, Donald Millikin, Nick Hammes, Nick Beinhart and Susan Kozak, IDALS-Division of Soil Conservation & Water Quality Acting Director.